Tea for Thought – Congruence

“People are just as wonderful as sunsets if you let them be. When I look at a sunset, I don’t find myself saying, “Soften the orange a bit on the right hand corner.” I don’t try to control a sunset. I watch with awe as it unfolds.” ― Carl R. Rogers

Beside from the mathematical term of being isometric, congruence also means to be in agreement or harmony with the other and is a state achieved by coming together. The late psychologist and author Carl Rodgers mentioned congruence in his ‘personality theory’ when referring to the compliance between the ideal self and the actual self. He states that a fully congruent person is able to live an authentic and genuine life. In my daily life, I am contemplating how often I practice unconditional positive regard towards myself? Meaning that I regard myself with no judgment or disapproval. I think if I found myself saying “I should” more than “I am”, then I may want to review my thoughts and let go of the ideas of the “Ideal Self” that brings about incongruence and becomes a disservice to my sense of worthiness and purpose. Instead, I can spend time and energy consciously stepping back into alignment with my “Real Self”. This evening tea break doodle was inspired by all the letters in the word ‘congruence’. You’ll just have to trust me on that one, because one would never know for looking. I do prefer the evolved round tag aesthetics of my tea for thought project. I am always fascinated by how the design process takes the direction it needs each and every time. Even if it does end up at a dead end. References: Goodreads. (n.d.). Carl R, Rodgers. Retrieved from http://www.goodreads.com/author/quotes/102062.Carl_R_Rogers Kirschenbaum, H & Henderson, V.A (Eds.). (1989). The Carl Rodgers Reader. New York: Houghton Mifflin Company.

 

“People are just as wonderful as sunsets if you let them be. When I look at a sunset, I don't find myself saying, "Soften the orange a bit on the right hand corner." I don't try to control a sunset. I watch with awe as it unfolds.” ― Carl R. Rogers

One thought on “Tea for Thought – Congruence

Leave a Reply

