Tea for Thought – Drawing

'In spite of everything I shall rise again: I will take up my pencil, which I have forsaken in my great discouragement, and I will go on with my drawing' - Vincent Van Gogh

‘In spite of everything I shall rise again: I will take up my pencil, which I have forsaken in my great discouragement, and I will go on with my drawing’ – Vincent Van Gogh

Not necessarily a philosophical word, but I have been contemplating the word ‘Drawing’ each and every day since I began to consider myself as an artist. To draw is the act of a person or thing to make a graphic representation on a surface by lines, tones, or colors of an object or idea. Sounds simple enough, yet I find myself over thinking the act. I understand that drawing is a foundation skill for all art, and that I must become familiar and comfortable with my own drawing practice. I am excited about what often becomes of my drawing attempts, however I am also equally intimidated by the whole idea.  The term ‘doodling’ for me, gives drawing a more relatable and friendly nature in which I feel less fearful of exploring the realm of making marks.  My challenge will be to ‘doodle’ something from real life, and having it look somewhat similar.  Right now, I am making the conscious choice to explore other methods of drawing. I invite serendipity and chance to become a viable element in my drawing practice, letting go of the ‘ideal’ perception and embracing all that I encounter through experimenting. I choose to be congruent with my real artist self, rather than my ideal perceived artist self. My mission starts with reading ‘Art Lab for Kids’ by Susan Schwake. Taking myself back to the non-intimidating days of childhood fearlessness and complete abandon. Lets see what I can create, beyond my own limitations.

Leave a Reply

