My Boy

My Boy Angel

My Boy

Susan Tuttle’s work mentioned in my previous post, inspired me to create a piece reinventing an original photo of mine.  I chose to take a ‘hands on’ approach with sandpaper, paint and oil pastels to my creative process – one that is demonstrated as photo distressing in ‘The Artistic Mother: A practical guide for fitting creativity into your life’ by Shona Cole. Starting with the original photo, my creative process is as follows…

This is my photo taken four and half years ago of my son Malakai. I want to transform it into an image that has a sketch book quality emphasizing his bright blue eyes and angelic face.

This is my photo taken four and half years ago of my son Malakai. I want to transform it into an image that has a sketch book quality emphasizing his bright blue eyes and angelic face.

One: sandpapered to remove the background ‘reality’ transforms the image into an ethereal space and highlights the central image of Malakai’s face and outfit.

One: sandpapered to remove the background ‘reality’ transforms the image into an ethereal space and highlights the central image of Malakai’s face and outfit.

Two: painted in ochre, emerald green and cyan then removed excess paint and left to dry.

Three: Oil pastels white, grey, black, aqua, and green were randomly scribbled (unsuccessful result as I chopped off the shoulders of jacket and failed to put light where it should be behind the neck and head)

Three: Oil pastels white, grey, black, aqua, and green were randomly scribbled (unsuccessful result as I chopped off the shoulders of jacket and failed to put light where it should be behind the neck and head)

Four: Final result I am pleased with which was to emphasize Malakai’s blue eyes and beautiful relaxed lips by taking away the background clutter of the original photo.  This project has left me enthusiastic to explore the process further including using Photoshop.

Four: Final result I am pleased with which was to emphasize Malakai’s blue eyes and beautiful relaxed lips by taking away the background clutter of the original photo. This project has left me enthusiastic to explore the process further including using Photoshop.

Five: Photoshop manipulation where exposure was adjusted to further enhance my intentions of creating a 'Susan Tuttle' appearance. The outcome of this image is my absolute favourite because all of the colour tones are emphasized and my original intentions for is exaggerated even further.

Five: Photoshop manipulation where exposure was adjusted to further enhance my intentions of creating a ‘Susan Tuttle’ appearance of being scratched and texturised. The outcome of this image is my absolute favourite because all of the colour tones are emphasized and my original intentions for is exaggerated even further.

Six: image was desaturated in addition to exposure adjustments resulting in an interestingly timeless and almost romantic effect, that highlights the composition of the image even more so. It occurs to me that I can see so much more detail in this image without the distraction that colour gives.

Six: image was desaturated in addition to exposure adjustments resulting in an interestingly timeless and melancholic image, highlighted by the composition even more so in grey scale. It occurs to me that I can see so much more detail in this image without the distraction that colour gives.

Reference:

Cole, S. (2010). The Artistic Mother: a Practical Guide for Fitting Creativity into your Life. North Light Books. Cincinnatti, Ohio.

2 thoughts on “My Boy

Leave a Reply

