Self-Portrait – Imaginarium

I can't keep a straight face for too long, especially with these silly earrings on

I can’t keep a straight face for too long 

This sketch is a result of a task I was assigned to create a self-portrait representing me in an altered imaginary state. I have added exaggerated hair and ears to give the impression of me as an otherworldly creature, of which I sometimes imagine myself to be. However, I perceive myself rather as a pixie priestess than this crazy character. Next time I envisage an elaborate headdress and glamorous fairy costume. Nevertheless, this task has increased my confidence yet again for drawing. I do believe that drawing myself is quite a confronting exercise, as it is triggering me to become self conscious of my 37 year old wrinkles, gestural expressions that I don’t particularly enjoy seeing and my end of summer collection of freckles, which as creative director of my own work, I can choose to omit from my features in this image.

Leave a Reply

