Visionary Structures

For this month’s module titled ‘Visionary Structures’; I have been set the task of developing sculptural and 3D design techniques and methods whilst relating my developments and outcomes to historical, contemporary and futuristic special structures.

In this module, more than any so far I have been challenged with the technical terminology of design, new medias that I have not worked with previously and the language of form and space.

Using the medias of metal, wood and plaster I am learning how to create a series of 2D drawings that successfully convey my vision of the 3D design that I have in mind. Being an amateur drawer to begin with I particularly struggled with representing my ideas with a 3D perspective, so I started with the basics and did my best creating works with my limited skill set and knowledge.

For inspiration and motivation to embrace this topic that is quite foreign to me, I started researching artists and designers in the field. Above are some unique structures that I have discovered that in my opinion are quite visionary.

Leave a Reply

