My Utopian Art Studio – searching for ideas

Following on from my previous post, I have researched more into the topic of Utopia and grasping the concept of an ecological utopia.  This could incorporate concepts such as organic architecture or lifestyles that are both more a kin to living in harmony with nature, and less dependent on western urbanization and into a more traditional way of living. Now this, I can resonate with.

Intentional communities all over the world are generally based on the utopian concept, which is improving the way humans live together. Members of these secular communities consisting of communes, farms, retreats and gypsy travelers of society have intentions of living the ideal lifestyle, in hope of peace and harmony with their neighbours and the land that provides for them.

When asked to imagine my ideal art studio within the sub-brief given in this project, my mind quickly led down a path that resonates with the utopian values of these traditional ways of living.  I considered how I might like to step into my teepee each morning to begin the day’s creative work in meditative communion with my creator, or a tree-house loft where I can retreat completely into the natural surroundings that nourish and sustain me.  However, my creative self preferred the idea of having a gypsy caravan wagon converted into an art studio and parked permanently in my home garden.  This utopian vision is influenced by my love of the bohemian style, colours, textiles and the simple life that gypsies embrace.  After being inspired by the eclectic vintage, rustic and contemporary designs of wagons and small dwellings (my favourite aspects seen above in these examples), I set off to design and build a model of my first visionary structure using wood as the media.

Small rooms or dwellings set the mind on the right path, large ones cause it to go astray – Leonardo de Vinci

Reference:

Richardson, P. (2007). XS Green: Big Ideas, Small Buildings. London: Thames & Hudson.

Leave a Reply

