Metal Workshop – Visionary Structure

Again, in response to the brief, I designed and created a visionary piece, but this time based on Rectilinear and Curvilinear structure made from metal. In all of these structures I have made I needed to always consider how they would be linked eventually to the other objects made by the entire class. Because of this each structure features a gasket plate that will be fixed by screws onto an adjoining structure.

Throughout this brief I have been looking at the Bauhaus, and how as students we are carrying out the task of both conceptual artist and craftsperson in the current workshops. Similarly to the Bauhaus students we have been encouraged to stretch our imaginations and practice becoming free-thinkers in all that we do.

My exercised imagination sees this metal structure as a child’s pinwheel that symbolises childhood imagination and fond memory for me, but it is distorted by the cold, sharp, machine like and hard reality of its media and my reality that I am now aware of in adult life.  This metaphor embodies the Utopian/Dystopian concept that I have researched extensively in previous posts.

3 thoughts on “Metal Workshop – Visionary Structure

  1. aurumeve says:

    I am really enamored with the piece! It’s beautiful, and I definitely see the dystopian angle and the inherent beauty therein. 🙂
    AurumEve.com ~ Global Jewelry

    Like

Leave a Reply

