Plaster Structure

I took a line for a walk as Paul Klee suggests, and transformed my 2D drawing into yet another 3D construct. This time using plaster I created a structure that obviously represents the depiction of surface and mass. The outcome has simplicity in its design, and similarly to Van der Rohe’s approach of ‘Less is more’ I was mindful of keeping to minimal lines and definitive curves.  Van der Rohe suggested that ‘God is in the details’ and therefore I trusted that this design would acquire a spirit of its own, rather than me trying to create it with further complexities. This I believe is even more fitting for its intended metaphor represents a temple of the feminine divine, wisdom and insight.

reference:

Wikipedia. (2003). Lugwig Mies Van der Rohe. Retrieved June, 27, 2013, from https.//en.wikipedia.org/

Leave a Reply

