Ways of Seeing – a Right Brain Investigation

In this recent module I was encouraged to embark upon a pathway, which held the most resistance for me – which is painting.  Step one was to challenge conventional ‘ways of seeing’ (our project title). Step two was to challenge my  self-limiting beliefs about being an artist.  My intention was simply to explore and discover how I may develop my confidence and skills of painting and drawing over the period of two weeks. An investigation into how I see my self developing as an artist, with inspiration and guidance from the art movement Surrealism and the art theory of drawing with the Right side of your brain. Through this I would find new ways of representing my ideas and creative processes, rather than relying on words constantly, I would learn to draw my thoughts and ideas.

I began by creating an ideas book solely for drawing/thinking titled it my book of A-Z’s – with the intention of drawing anything that had the essence of being strange, humorous, provocative or amusing.  However, I didn’t get beyond B in my A-Z book of drawings, because I was led to explore the sketch as a series of paintings that I have to show you in the next few days.

There was the risk that I would tend to create works that appear ‘Cliché’ and I therefore had to consider seriously what my images would represent, and ensure that they were not obviously blatant and boring (another few B words I could attempt to draw).

a pretty dead bird

 

Leave a Reply

