Mister Finch

Mr Finch is the self taught creator of these whimsical storytelling creatures. He practices a sustainable practice by collecting objects and materials that have lost their purpose, not just an ethical choice but also because he loves the nostalgic and unique qualities of them, which is what I am drawn to in his works.

It’s a joy to hunt for things for my work…the lost, found and forgotten all have places in what I make.
Most of my pieces use recycled materials, not only as an ethical statement, but I believe they add more authenticity and charm.
A story sewn in, woven in.
Velvet curtains from an old hotel, a threadbare wedding dress and a vintage apron become birds and beasts, looking for new owners and adventures to have.

Mr Finch expresses his desire for meaning and fantastical whimsy, letting his creatures tell tales of merging into the human world by means of their physical materiality. As a storyteller and lover of stories, Mr Finch nourishes my imagination and inspires me to tap into the worlds that reside therein.

My main inspirations come from nature and often I return to certain ideas again and again.
Flowers, insects and birds really fascinate me with their amazing life cycles and extraordinary nests and behaviour.
British folklore is also so beautifully rich in fabulous stories and warnings and never ceases to be at the heart of what I make.
Shape shifting witches, moon gazing hares and a smartly dressed devil ready to invite you to stray from the path.
humanizing animals with shoes and clothes is something I’ve always done and I imagine them to come alive at night. Getting dressed and helping an elderly shoemaker or the tired housewife.

Images and quotes retrieved 15th November 2013, from http://www.mister-finch.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

