Sustainable Art Practice

collection of insects

Adaptation by Vicky Russell

Insects make up 80% of all known animals present on Earth, making them an integral part to ensuring the survival of animal and plant species on the planet, hence maintaining the balance of nature itself.  In short, In my final project this year, I am bringing to awareness the fragility of the ecological web, by a designing and making a series of sculptured insects. To visually portray this concept I have displayed the insects inside frames much like one would see in a museum collection, except I have made them from cardboard boxes (reusing cardboard packaging). It amuses me to think of myself as the discoverer and collector of insects (entomologist) in my native country New Zealand, having imagined ‘newly discovered’ mutant native insects.  My aim in this project is to highlight the potential extinction of our native insects and the surreal possibility of a mutated species, as a result of our increased technological age and throwaway consumer mentality. As art practitioner, I was mindful of how I can make only ecological friendly footprints and I made conscious choices to primarily use found objects that would have otherwise been thrown away. The wire used in construction was the only thing I purchased to create this work. I mostly used hand tools, rather than the machine counterparts, which certainly gave my works a handcrafted appeal.  I believe this mindfulness is crucial in considering what type of media and art forms I pursue next year. The world needs artists and designers who practice sustainability. It’s the only way forward in creating a huge positive impact on our global ecosystem and the creatures who live within, great and small.

2 thoughts on “Sustainable Art Practice

  1. chika says:

    cool wall art! i love it and i like the idea of linking art and our environment.
    i have a friend in japan who makes all kinds of stuff – eg. insects orchestra, bull dog, monsters – using cardboard box material. the bull dog was amazing enough for me to think that it was made of wood.

    Like

Leave a Reply

