Evaluating the Process of ‘Adaptation’

I thoroughly immersed myself in the conceptual stages of this brief (in previous posts) and found I could have stayed there for longer than 2 weeks. The reason why I was so engaged is because I finally broke through my barrier of ‘not being able to draw’. Drawing in 3D, then the process of transferring images into 2D sketches using a light box, has been so insightful as to how I can foresee myself developing my drawing skills in the future. I have always struggled with perspective and scale, and this trick of the trade has opened up more possibilities for me to learn and become comfortable with a pencil in hand.

I am pleased that my intuitive capabilities were not disregarded but rather enhanced in this brief. Even though this meant that whilst I was engaged so deeply in creating with my hands, I forgot to stop and photograph developmental stages to add to my documentation later. I have learnt to trust in the creative process, knowing that things will develop naturally on their own accord, without my needing to have an expectation of any certain outcome.

My major turning points in this project were a new perspective on drawing that I feel confident in, the inspiration to use Adobe Illustrator as a drawing tool and ultilising the Intron Press to print these designs onto silk and aluminum for feature wings, and the beaded wire alternative to constructing the bugs, giving them an elegant but also mechanical juxtaposed aesthetic.

My only disappointment in this brief has been the low tech quality of my hard sculpture handcraft skills and box frames. If I had longer to refine my skills that were developing towards the end of my process, I would have replaced some of these creatures with more sophisticated models and built wooden shadow box frames with glass casing. I predicted that this would happen, and found it easy to accept as a part of the process as an artist. Many of us are actually our harshest critics. Wouldn’t you agree?

I have completed this project with an awareness of the difference between a low tech or sophisticated outcome and presentation. This making the end product either suitable for selling or not. My ambition is to develop my skill-set to the level where I can create works suitable for selling to customers. I have many ideas to explore in the next two years of degree studies – none of which feature insects of this kind. But I am grateful for the experience of creating them, as it resulted in acquiring very valuable insights and skills that will serve me well in the future.

Leave a Reply

