The Sum of Things

Painting of Dancers on stage by Nik Helbig, 2009
20x90cm, acrylic on canvas

To sum up the year of Level 5 Bachelor of Visual Arts & Design at Ideaschool in a few words is tricky. The short story is that I now perceive myself to be a new artisan who has not yet acquired her entire tool kit, as apposed to only being a ‘wanna be’ (Just like I’m a ‘wanna be’ dancer on stage).

Although I thoroughly embraced the briefs of Pattern Universe and Self Portrait, my future steps started to become really clear during the Documenting Arts module, where I found creative possibilities opening up before me. Prior to this, I found myself meeting brief requirements with comparatively little belief in my ability and direction.

I find meaning in the handcrafted and beautiful functional objects combined with philosophical or poetic concepts. Topics of surrealism, fantasy, whimsy and mind/body consciousness intrigue me.  Keeping this in mind, what I intend to create next year are pieces of work that are for purposes of adornment and decoration of home and hearth, and of the person in the context of hard and soft sculpture.

The technologies I plan to apply include; photography, Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator for digital art and photographic manipulation, print technologies, small object sculptural methods (soldering, enameling, heat treatment of metals), and fibre art. I will be enrolling in a correspondence paper in Photoshop as an additional elective in Semester one 2014, to extend my limited knowledge of digital media. I also plan to continue my blog postings, drawing practices and document my creative ideas and art research over the break.

Although I have many ideas to explore I will be mindful of avoiding any predictable outcomes. I have learnt that unique and interesting works of art always come about as a result of play and exploration. This is my primary focus for level 6, to develop a signature aesthetic that is one of a kind and appealing for customers. Speaking of which, I am looking forward to developing a business model and embarking on the journey of becoming a Mixed media Handcraft Artisan and colleague to many talented artisans in the local and global communities of the Arts.

Thanks to the many at Ideaschool and our wider community who contributed to the success and enjoyment of Level 5  2013! I curtsy to you all in respect and admiration.

2 thoughts on “The Sum of Things

Leave a Reply

