Just get to work he says…

All the best ideas come out of the process; they come out of work itself…If you just get to work, something will occur to you and something else will occur to you and something else that you reject will push you in another direction.” Chuck Close

I am really struggling with getting back into the study year and just getting work done as Chuck Close advises. In the first few weeks, I learnt how to create Photopolymer Etching film, for printmaking. This was something I felt I could really sink my teeth into, and was all ready to expose my prepared film, only for the process to be stopped by a broken vacuum on the exposure unit. Since then, my focus has gone off on other tangents and hasn’t landed into any particular interest for the brief ahead of me. In the process I have procrastinated getting work done – remembering that work is what makes stuff happen in the first place. At least this thinking time had enabled me to consolidate my view, and my voice as an artist. I am contemplating extending my skills on one or two of the forms of media below.  Obviously, I need to refine my thoughts. It’s fine for me to utilise all of these media for projects in the future, but I will need to decide which of them will best express my concept and outcome for this semester.

Photo Montage with Photoshop, Printmaking in particular Photopolymer Etching, Illustration using paint or pencil, Fibre Art, Clay, or Soft Sculpture. I think its safe to say at this point, that I will be a mixed media artist. I feel like a fledging sitting on the precipice about to embark upon my first flight – excited and really hesitant. Wish me luck!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

