Linda Plaisted

The works of award winning photographic mixed media artist, Linda Plaisted have captured my attention in “Photocraft: creative mixed media and digital approaches to transforming your photographs.” by Susan Tuttle and Christi Hydeck.

My recent ideas of layering images in an etheric and dream-story way has already been successfully achieved by Plaisted in America. Plaisted’s award winning work is on a similar track to what I had thought to be a unique idea for me to pursue in the next stage of my and photographic art, however, I will not let this realisation stop me from exploring this idea.

I need to trust that I am still a unique artist and at the end of the day, no one does anything the same as another. So, off I go to explore layering nature images and self-portraiture together. My only intention is to combine these elements that I have a deep sense of reverence for. I have no end ideal result in mind, just thoughts of layers of transparency, blending modes at play, intimate, ethereal and contemplative images with a digital encaustic aesthetic.

Whats interesting is that Plaisted also works with encaustics, as seen below:

References:

Hydeck, C & Tuttle, S. (2012). Photocraft: creative mixed media and digital approaches to transforming your photographs. Ohio, USA: North Light Books.

Plaisted, L. (2013). Linda Plaisted Fine Art Photography and Mixed Media. Retrieved from http://lindaplaisted.com/

 

One thought on “Linda Plaisted

Leave a Reply

