Encaustic Series by Vicky Reisima

The ‘Elements of Random’ series were conceived from my desire to combine the natural world with geometric patterns, highlighting the synergistic and beautiful relationship that can be witnessed between them.

This series of works were created in response to my desire to experiment with encaustic wax. After combining photographs with vector images in Photoshop, I went on to transfer the images onto calico fabric with the Intron Heat Transfer Press. Before fusing them onto wooden box frames, I couldn’t resist passing them under the sewing machine for old times sake. They are currently on display in the Can Print Exhibition in Hastings Community Art Gallery (Hawkes Bay, New Zealand from 21st July-02 August 2014), and available to purchase should you wish to have them adorning your walls.

2 thoughts on “Encaustic Series by Vicky Reisima

  1. leanne says:

    Vicky when I first saw these pieces the first words that came to me were, deep, mysterious and complex. The stitching makes me think of tattoo, tribal and organic or maybe body piercing, but when I went back to them for a second look I was thinking machines, steam punk like. Thought provoking, great work I love them!

    Like

Leave a Reply

