behind the scenes of my new website

I am nervous and excited simultaneously as I’ve just publicly published my website portfolio. Have a gander by going straight here www.theimaginare.com. But if you are curious to see behind the scenes of my design decisions, then stick around here for a bit.

Home Page

 

Settling into Home (above):

Within the brief parameters that I was given, I finally settled into home with the WordPress Spun theme for my website portfolio. Why? Because I love circles? Yes of course, but that’s not all. It’s minimal, clean, white and single columned allowing my work to take centre stage without the clutter of side bars. It’s not an ideal theme for me as I wanted a real portfolio appearance, but within my knowledge constraints of WordPress and without purchasing a Premium theme, it’s suitable for now. The reason why I wanted my name header to be subtle using Brandon Grotesque thin as a font, is also so the eyes of the viewer would be drawn to see my work first and foremost. I like the idea that if you are intrigued by my work, then you will want to get to know me more, and head to my about and bio pages next to learn more.

Biography

 

The official Bio (above):

Before meeting me personally, you can first read my fairly informal but official biography. Still, with my back turned, having you curiously watching over my shoulder, you read about my working environment, what I use to create art and a little insight as to where you also may find me and my work.

Meet Vicki

meet vicki continuedMeet Vicki (above):

This is where you are given the opportunity to really get to know me and should you wish to connect with me by email or read my blog – it’s all here. Authentic, personable, and aimed to be intriguing (only to some I know, as I cant be everything to everyone) – I’m trusting that my audience will get a deeper feel for me as a person, a little bit of my story, and why I make art and hopefully want to give my creations a place in their hearts and homes to belong. I believe that my open hearted approach is a huge asset to my brand, and is the essence of the viewer experience. My refreshingly honest voice resounds well to my audience because it’s the way they communicate also – breaking the barriers that can otherwise exist when attempting to relate online. I’m committed to being just me, in my realness, and hope to connect and establish a community of like minded artists and art lovers who appreciate and are inspired by this. I’ve just summed up my ideal niche market!

 

Other Design Elements I’ve considered are:

  • Fonts Brandon Grotesque and Open Sans are simple and non-decorative to make it easy reading, but also not too formal
  • Images are not professionally taken or processed, and need to be updated as my new work is created. These works are not what I want to be known for, but will fill the gaps in my portfolio until I begin producing pieces that I am really proud of, and photograph them well.
  • Mixed media sculpture is only one aspect of my art, however, in order to develop a streamlined practice, my photographic work will not be featured here. Viewers interested in my photographic art will discover it in my blog linked in the menu bar. This design choice was made with the intention of refining my style and practice as an emerging artist.
  • Experience: my brand is all about connection. This has been my number one priority with my website design and becomes the experience of the viewer. I have remained authentic and true to myself, proactive by getting out there globally on the world wide web, trusting in the process and daring to be great. I am courageously stepping out, reaching out to community. Bringing my creations to the homes of those who appreciate them
  • Menu Bar: features only the necessary tabs for now, but later I will add a link to an Etsy shop
  • Profile Pictures: I think it’s important to see the face of the maker, it definitely helps with connection.
  • Social Media: unlike my blog, the social media icons are at the bottom of each page, making them accessible but not in your face. I look upon my blog as being the place where all of that happens.
  • Blog: speaking of which: I have customised it to be more aesthetically in alignment with my website. Circles are a reoccurring theme, as are the grey fonts and icons. Previously they were black and bold – not at all the relaxed and fun vibe that it now embodies.
  • Sentence structure: although my website has a decent amount of written content, I have attempted to keep the sentences short and to the point. Well, as much as a storyteller can.
  • Language: my language is conversational and intimate. Suited for my intentions of creating connections with my audience.
  • URL: http://www.theimaginare.com. I created this before I decided to only use my name as my brand, but intend to hold onto it as a possible product name. My creations could be named The Imaginares? or I could indeed become The Imaginare!
  • In hindsight: I later on discovered how to add Portfolio Projects that are displayed as a page with posting capabilities. Given more time I would transfer all of my Category posts to Project items. For another day though…

Always allowing for evolution and growth to take place, this design is far from being complete, nor will it ever be. It’s a start, and I’m proud that I have come this far with learning WordPress. They say that you will never be ready for anything, you just have to start doing it, and become what you only dream about otherwise.

I’m continuously dreaming….but doing it too!

 

 

Leave a Reply

