pattern hunt

IMG_0342

When hunting for patterns in my surroundings, my eyes were captivated by the geometry of this brick path. A decorative path that goes to nowhere in particular, I pondered on the intricacies of the way its pattern curves around although its structural lines are completely straight. An interesting pattern that I could explore every crack and crevice of – but had I not hunted for a pattern today, it would never occurred to me to step off my walking path and find the curious spaces in between. This was a great exercise to compel me to slow down from my daily tasks and experience simple joy in a simple moment, spurred on by such a simple thing.

“Adults follow paths. Children explore. Adults are content to walk the same way, hundreds of times, or thousands; perhaps it never occurs to adults to step off the paths, to creep beneath rhododendrons, to find the spaces between fences. I was a child, which meant that I knew a dozen different ways of getting out of our property and into the lane, ways that would not involve walking down our drive.”
Neil Gaiman, The Ocean at the End of the Lane

 

This is a response to a photographic prompt from Susannah Conways #august break project

Leave a Reply

